It’s getting real . . .

“The nature of things is change”

No matter how well I think I understand this statement it seems change has a way of sneaking up on me.

I’ve lived in Georgia my whole life. In fact, I lived in the same house until I was 18, and the same town until I was 23. My undergrad was at a local community college, and my graduate education was only 2 hours away from that. Now, I will be moving at the end of July.

I always knew this day would come. As a kid one of my favorite movies was Home Alone. It’s still in my top 20 (okay, top 10). I loved the silliness of it for sure, especially when Harry (Joe Pesci) gets blow-torched (that sounds MUCH more morbid when you can’t see it). But I always loved the scenery of the movie, particularly the snow. I thought it would be cool to live up north (something I didn’t say out loud in the South) and actually have a white Christmas. Now I will.

As of April 15th I am officially a PhD student at a university in New York state. And just yesterday I got this in the mail, along with a welcome packet.

Student Handbook
It was all yellow.

So it’s getting real. I’ve already been to check out some places to live, and it felt kinda real then. But now, it’s real. I’ll be moving, along with my wife, to somewhere I’ve never lived before in a region I’ve never lived before. Craziness.

Even though we won’t be moving until the end of July, we’ve started packing, and sorting, and throwing-away all the stuff we don’t want anymore. And I couldn’t be more excited.

It’s gonna be hard to leave my family behind, but it won’t be forever. In the mean time, we’ll get to experience a whole new place, make all new friends, and live a completely new life.

The weirdest part is that this is all a culmination of several years of working and wishing. I did 4+ years of a B.S. degree in Psychology, then got an M.Ed. in Professional Counseling. In the hyper-competitive world of PhD applications I was able to squeak by and get 1 in 7 spot at a top-notch program. It all seemed kind of like a dream. Even after I got the acceptance it didn’t seem real . . . in the back of my mind I wondered if I would get an “oops-we-made-a-mistake-sucks-for-you” call or email. But instead I got a welcome packet.

I had help from numerous people along the way. Advisors. Mentors. Professors. Family. Friends. And this site. So now, after being a seeker of help I want to be able to extend some. I think I am going to make a series of posts about getting into a Counseling Psychology PhD program, maybe even including some resources (not that anybody reads this other than my immediate family).

There wasn’t much of a reason for this post. Just a lazy Sunday afternoon, some spare time, some spare emotions, and my wife discovering that Teen Mom is on Netflix (I can’t stand that show).  I hope you are enjoying your change as much as I am mine.

-ASG

2 thoughts on “It’s getting real . . .

  1. As a mom I could not be pouder of you. Yes this is a cheezy mom post. I have watched you grow and struggle and persevere in acheiving your goals. Now you are on the last stretch. I amire your stamina and hard work as well as your ability to follow your dreams. Not many people follow through on what they decide as a young person. You and Angela should be very proud and very excited to start your new endeavour up north. Wow what an exciting opportunity. You are a wonderful son. I miss you all so much. Congratulations to you Andrew. I hope that you know I will always love and support you. Yes, I will always be your cheezy mom, but I wear that name proudly. somehow out of all the chaos in my life i managed to something to be proud of and that is you. I love you!!!

Leave a Reply

