Post-less

When I started this blog I had every intention of dumping Facebook and moving to blogging full-time. Naive and optimistic, I know.

Fast forward several months (okay, a year) and I have made one post.

One.

And I’m not sure how I feel about that. Embarrassed . . . maybe. . . Frustrated . . . meh . . . Amazed . . . that works. Amazed mostly at how distracting the world is. Notice I shift the blame to the world (that’s called an external locus of control for you non psych types). Blame it on Facebook, Twitter, blah, blah, blah, it’s true they are distracting at times.

I blame work. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate having a job especially when the economy is this bad. It isn’t what I do at work that makes blogging difficult but rather how I do it- by computer.

At the end of the day I have to do so many notes, electronic records, referrals, etc, that my eyeballs rebel against electronic screens. The thought of seeing any more electronically generated fonts makes me physically irritated.

But I have one weapon up my sleeve . . . this post.

Yes, this measly little post. It stands in blatant defiance opposite the crushing weight of procrastination and distraction that, until now, has been this blog. Success! I have overcome!

Never mind that no one reads this thing anyway . . . except for my wife who will likely comment below. (hint-hint-I need some comments!)

4 thoughts on “Post-less

  1. I rebel against technology on the weekends, but for reasons other than eye exhaustion. Sometimes your brain truly just needs a break from it all. It feels good to just live in the now and forget about Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo News, and ESPECIALLY work e-mail. “Wherever you are…be all there” Very Zen, I know.

  2. Not only is the world distracted, but I find facebook irritating in the sense that there is always that one comment you could have made it through the day without reading it or seeing it. Somehow it seems that there is always a tormenting reminder of your haunted past lurking around the corner just taunting you endlessly. You think I could have done without knowing that, but in some weird way it makes you stronger because you are so thankful you are no longer that peson you used to be.

Leave a Reply

